Gurukula Kangri University founded on 4 March 1902 by the Arya Samaj sannyasi Swami Shraddhanand, follower of Dayananda Saraswati.

Gurukul Kangri University is a public central deemed to be university located in Haridwar, Uttarakhand, India. It is situated near the bank of the Ganges about 6 km from Haridwar and about 200 km from New Delhi. 

Gurukula Kangri has 24 academic departments covering Engineering, Applied Sciences, Vedic Sciences, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Management programs. The great emphasis is on Vedic and Modern Sciences and technological education and research.


Gurukul Kangri University (Deemed to be University) was founded on 4 March 1902 by the Arya Samaj sannyasi Swami Shraddhanand, who was a follower of Dayananda Saraswati. The aim of this university was to revive the ancient Indian gurukul system of education. 

The objective of this institution was to provide an inherent alternative to Lord Macaulay’s education policy by imparting education in the areas of Vedic literature, Indian philosophy, Indian culture, modern sciences, and research.

The Arya Samaj which advocated women’s education, as part of its policies for the upliftment of women in the country, established the Kanya Gurukula Campus, Dehradun in 1922 by Acharya Ramdevji making it the second campus of women’s education. In 1993, Kanya Gurukula Campus, Hardwar was established to give real shape to the dreams of Swami Shraddhanandaji.

The purpose for the foundation was found in the teachings and activities of Dayananda Saraswati, founder of the Arya Samaj. The first foundation brick was laid down in Gujrawala, Punjab. 

Guests in the Gurukul Kangri University

The Gurukula has observed many distinguished guests. A few of them being C. F. AndrewsRamsay MacDonaldMahatma Gandhi, Pt. Madan Mohan MalaviyaDr. Rajendra PrasadDr Radha Krishnan, Sh.Jamnalal Bajaj, Dr. Munje, Sadhu Vaswani, Pt. Jawahar Lal NehruSmt. Indira Gandhi and Sh. Gyani Jail Singh, Sh. L.K. Advani and in 2011 Smt. Meira Kumar, then speaker of the Lok Sabha.

Relocation of the University

During the India Partition, Swami ji searched for a suitable place in India according to the imagination of Dayananda Saraswati as mentioned in Satyarth Prakash. The site of Kangri village, Bijnor district, was flooded when the river changed course in 1924; the new (present) campus was built subsequently.


The university has separate campuses for men and women.

  • Main Campus, Gurukula Kangri (Deemed to be University), Haridwar (males)
  • Kanya Campus, Haridwar (females)
  • Kanya Gurukul Mahavidhyalaya, Dehradun (females)
  • Faculty of Engineering and Technology, Haridwar (males)

>>> Read about Ramakrishna Math

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: