Purna Swaraj was declared in the Lahore session of 1929

What is the Importance of Lahore Session 1929?

Lahore Session of 1929 has great importance in the freedom of India. In this session, Jawaharlal Nehru hoisted the flag of India on 31 December 1929, on the bank of River Ravi, in Lahore.

Under the Presidentship of Jawaharlal Nehru, the Congress met at Lahore in 1929 and declared Purna Swaraj or Complete Independence for India as their goal. 

Indian Tricolor on the day of Lahore Session 1929
Indian Tricolor

On 31 December 1929, at midnight, the Indian tricolor flag was unfurled on the bank of River Ravi amidst the slogan of Vande Mataram

Features of the Lahore Session 1929

  1. In this session, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru was president of the Indian National Congress.
  2. Pandit Nehru said that “there is only one goal ahead of us, which is Purna Swaraj(Full Freedom)
  3. On 19th December 1929, the declaration of Purna Swaraj was originated. All the members agreed that the Congress and Indian Nationalists should fight for Purna Swaraj.
  4. In front of huge crowds, Pandit Nehru hoisted the Indian Tricolor on the Bank of Ravi River. This was the first time when the Indian Tricolor was unfurled.
  5. Congress decided to observe 26th January 1930 as the Purna Swaraj Day. 
  6. This day is considered as First Independence Day of India.

Why Lahore Session 1929 has great importance?

Lahore session made the struggle for freedom, struggle of every people.

In the Lahore Session, Congress declared Purna Swaraj as the main motive. It motivated people come up with great energy and ask for full freedom.

The struggle for freedom, which was by some nationalists, was now become the struggle of common people.

Republic Day on 26th January

On 15 August 1947, Lord Mountbatten handed over the power of India to the first Prime Minister of India Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru.

To respect the decision made of celebrating 26th January as Purna Swaraj Day, Indian Constitution was enforced on that day. And now, this day is celebrated as the Republic Day of India.

Read about Badruddin Tyabji and Bhulabhai Desai

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: