The Mughal Emperors built and ruled the Mughal Empire on the Indian subcontinent. In this post, we are sharing list of major Mughal Rulers

The Mughal Emperors (or Moghul) built and ruled the Mughal Empire on the Indian subcontinent. The Mughals began to rule parts of India from 1526. Till 1700, they ruled most of the sub-continent. After that, they declined rapidly and ruled till the 1850s.

The Mughals were a branch of the Timurid dynasty of Turco-Mongol origin from Central Asia. Babur founded the Mughal dynasty. Babur was a direct descendant of Timur (Tamerlane, as known in western nations) and also related to Genghis Khan.

>>> Read: How Babur is related to Timur and Genghis Khan?

List of the Mughal Emperors






Alamgir I

Bahadur Shah

Jahandar Shah


Rafi ud-Darajat

Shah Jahan II

  • Birth Name: Rafi ud-Daulah
  • Birth: June 1696
  • Reign: 6 June 1719 – 17 September 1719
  • Death: 18 September 1719 (aged 23) Agra, India

Muhammad Shah

Ahmad Shah Bahadur

Alamgir II

Shah Jahan III

  • Birth Name: Muhi-ul-millat
  • Birth: 1711
  • Reign: 10 December 1759 – 10 October 1760
  • Death: 1772 (aged 60–61)

Shah Alam II

Akbar Shah II

Bahadur Shah II

Related Posts

2 thoughts on “List of the Mughal Emperors in India

Leave a Reply

Newsletter Signup

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter below and never miss the latest product or an exclusive offer.